Skip to Content
NCR News and Information

Disaster Assistance

The types of disaster assistance you may be eligible for varies on the severity and type of disaster, as well as the jurisdiction in which you reside.

When your city, county or state is approved for what is commonly referred to as federal disaster assistance, you may be eligible for grants and loans. Sometimes only federal low interest loans are available. 

When no federal assistance is available, voluntary organizations and others step in to help with serious needs. 

Disaster assistance can come in a variety of forms to include, but not limited to, the following:
• Emergency food.
• Clothing.
• Housing (short-term, long-term).
• Financial assistance (reasonable and necessary living expenses, home repairs, rental assistance, and replacement of household contents).
• Legal services.
• Unemployment benefits.


Local Information

Click on your place of residence below to learn more about disaster assistance programs.


District of Columbia


Montgomery County
Prince George's County


Arlington County 
Fairfax City  
Fairfax County (Emergency Information Blog)
Falls Church 
Loudoun County   
Manassas Park 
Prince William County

About the National Capital Region

The National Capital Region (NCR) encompasses the District of Columbia and parts of Maryland and Virginia, including the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas and Manassas Park and the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William in Virginia and Montgomery and Prince George’s in Maryland, which include the municipalities of Bowie, College Park, Gaithersburg, Greenbelt, Rockville and Takoma Park.